how hard is it to get into periodontics residency

Number of Positions: 1 for graduates of non-CODA accredited dental schools. If you don't have competitive grades and scores, apply to many schools to increase your chances. Usually, they only get about 1 or 2 residents per year level as far as I know. Answer (1 of 3): Depends on several factors. Refinancing is still the long term play for her, but a $3,600 per month payment while earning $50,000 is an absolute no-go. This opportunity can still yield a great recommendation letter and give you more exposure to the specialty of your choice. I am a 3rd year dental student at UPenn and I am considering doing a periodontics residency. At that time all residencies filled their slots with american grads. I am also looking into residency programs that accept foreign dentist only there acceptance rate is . DO MORE OF WHAT YOU LOVE. My residency had over 700 applications for 6 spots. This requires taking and excelling at the National Board Dental Examinations (NBDE), which test your knowledge of the basic sciences and clinical dentistry. Do as much perio stuff as you can (surgeries and assists) and get to know you perio faculty and residents. 5 Things in Residency That I Didn't Expect to be Hard (But Were) March 8, 2017. Understand Your Odds of Getting into Residency - HCPLive Here are some of the difficulties I wasn't expecting: 1. 3. How Hard Is It to Get Into Periodontics Residency Overview How Hard Is It to Get Into Periodontics Residency There are many causes of gum disease. getting into perio residency | Student Doctor Network In other words back in the early 90s you had essentially no shot at . Can't speak for other hospitals, but in general, neurosurgery is one the tougher programs to get into, especially in istitutions where they offer a straight program. The UCLA Periodontics Residency Program is a three-year, full-time specialty-training program. How Hard Is It to Get Into Periodontics Residency - Step by Step to Ho